Parlarti e poi….

Standard

Before I begin, I hope that no one in Italy will judge me for writing a post about a Gigi d’Alessio song!!  Now I know that he has a bad reputation in Italy.  Many claim that his stardom is due to his association with organized crime…others are disgusted by the fact that he left his wife and young children for a woman (or at that time, a girl) half his age.  Yes, I have to agree with all of this.  But, the fact remains that he has interpreted this song perfectly.  So try to forget the man behind the music and enjoy this beautiful poem of passion and love….

It was difficult to find a video to this song that was G-rated!  I ended up chosing this one because the words are written out as the song is being sung – in my opinion, a great way to study Italian!!  This song’s lyrics are perhaps the most romantic I have ever heard…why is it that the language of love is so beautiful in Italian (as you can see from the translation below, unfortunately it’s not quite so romantic in English) ?   The melody and the sentiment stir my heart and every time I hear it, it brings tears to my eyes. 

Speak to you and then…

I like this life without any rules…

to live it with you.

It’s like a storm without any clouds…

A new day that never dies.

The nights waiting on the telephone

The desire to speak softly with you…

of unforgettable stories, of useless loves, of many things closed within me.

It’s nice, you know,

speaking to you and seeing you in my bed during the night even when you’re not there.

It’s like having you here…here close to me that I can caress your face and get lost within the smile that I have inside of me…

To make love without getting tired and then I smell your perfume inside the emptiness that is in love more than ever…

Come on, hold me tight and make me know that even from far away you are there…

And how many times do I want to join you…

with that crazy desire to hold you near,

to come to your house, to come upstairs slowly to tell you a thousand times that I love you.

It’s nice, you know,

speaking to you and seeing you in my bed during the night even when you’re not there.

It’s like having you here…here close to me that I can caress your face and get lost within the smile that I have inside of me…

To make love without getting tired and then I smell your perfume inside the emptiness that is in love more than ever…

Come on, hold me tight and make me know that even from far away you are there…

Let’s talk some more without end in the darkness of this night…time runs by quickly only with us.

Hold me, my love…

If I close my eyes, you come only into my dreams.

 

3 responses »

  1. io confesso di ascoltare Gigi….e gasp! La Tatangelo! (però sempre dietro i porti chiusi con la chiava!) Anche se un’amica italiana mi ha pregato di non farlo, sono colpevole!

    Uno delle canzoni preferite è Un Nuovo Bacio (con entrambi pari!)

    Hai sentito che Anna è una mamma giovanissima…ha solo 23 anni, e dopo una gravidanze interrotta spontaneamente, finalmente si è diventata una mamma 31 Marzo 2010. Il nuovo bimbo si chiama Andrea D’Alessio.

    • No, non avevo sentito che ha avuto un bimbo…sono contenta per lei.
      Le loro canzoni sono belle – non sono completamente sicura perche sono cosi odiati in italia. Forse per le ragioni di qui ho scritto…ci sono altre?
      Grazie del link del Nuovo Bacio – mi piace anche a me questa canzone 🙂

Leave a Reply

