Vasco Rossi’s Siamo Soli

Standard

Yes, I know I usually write about Italian love songs…and that’s because I think the words are always so beautiful and expressive.  But once in a while, a good rock beat with some raw emotion gets me motivated to share as well!  This song by Vasco Rossi, one of Italy’s great rock masters, has a rough edge to it that appeals to my musical sense and I crank it up to full volume when it comes around on my Ipod shuffle setting!!  Usually this happens while I’m driving…and alone….so I rock out to it without any reservations!! 

Ahh! non ci posso credere                                   Ahh!  I can’t believe it
sei nervosa e                                                              you’re nervous and
e non sai perchè                                                       and you don’t know why

Ehh! non è mica facile                                          Ehh!  It’s not easy
fai l’amore e                                                              you make love and
e non pensi a me                                                    and you don’t think of me

Ehh! cosa vuoi rispondere                               Ehh!  what do you want to respond

siamo qui                                                                 we’re here                                              
non mi senti                                                            don’t you hear me

Ehh! noi parliamo spesso si                             Ehh!  We speak often, yes                     

ma è così                                                                 but it’s like this
siamo soli                                                               we’re alone

Ehh! tu non puoi pretendere                         Ehh! you can’t pretend
siamo qui                                                               we’re here
e siamo vivi                                                           and we’re alive

Ehh! tutto puo succedere                               Ehh!  everything can happen
ora qui                                                                    here now
siamo soli siamo soli                                        we’re alone, we’re alone
siamo soli siamo soli                                        we’re alone, we’re alone                                 

Vivere insieme a me                                        Living with me
hai ragione                                                           you’re right
hai ragione te                                                      you’re right you
non è mica semplice                                        that it’s not simple          
non lo è stato mai per me                              it’s never been for me
io che ci credevo più di te                            I believed more than you
che fosse possibile                                           that it would be possible
e smettila di piangere                                     and stop crying

Ehh! tu non puoi rispondermi                   Ehh!  you cannot respond to me
sono qui                                                              I am here
e non mi ascolti                                               and you’re not hearing me

Ehh! tutto puo succedere                           Ehh!  everything can happen
ora qui                                                                here now
siamo vivi                                                         we’re alive
siamo vivi                                                         we’re alive
siamo vivi                                                         we’re alive

Vivere insieme a me                                        Living with me
hai ragione                                                           you’re right
hai ragione te                                                      you’re right you
non è mica semplice                                        that it’s not simple          
non lo è stato mai per me                              it’s never been for me
io che ci credevo più di te                            I believed more than you
che fosse possibile                                           that it would be possible
e smettila di piangere                                     and stop crying

Siamo soli                                                           We’re alone
siamo soli
siamo soli…

Interesting note about Vasco Rossi…he was quoted in a recent article by Corriere della Sera stating that he believes that the American and British governments hindered him from becoming popular in these countries because they wanted to promote their music in Italy…is it true?  Needless to say, he has never performed in the USA (and actually had some planned concerts cancelled), but he is performing in Britain this year for the first time!  Maybe the USA will be next! 

4 responses »

  1. Great minds think alike! You don’t know how close I came to writing a blog yesterday on Vasco Rossi! I instead decided to go with a blog about Baci Perugina…but he is next on my list of creative blog ideas!!!!

  2. This is a great way to learn the language and chart your own progress – how much of a song you can comprehend. I’m glad you decided to rock it out in this post; also, the words are slow and clear enough to follow. Yep, this is about my speed…and little, easy words – giggling that I only had to look up one word – “mica.” Sto imperaaaannnddoooo! 🙂 Grazie!

    • I totally agree!!! Listening to songs is the best way to improve your language skills (as long as the singer enunciates!!!) I have spoken Italian all my life, but I have noticed a HUGE improvement after becoming addicted to listening to Italian songs 🙂

Leave a Reply

