A fare l’arte – Una cosa bella o brutta?

Standard

Ho deciso di scrivere questo post in italiano perche` mi voglio sfogare in qualche posto, e siccome il tema del mio blog e` “tutto italia” non potevo scrivere di qualche cosa non italiano in inglese!!! 

Come sapete, io disegno e pitturo le piastrelle.  Mi piace farlo tantissimo…mi rilascia ed e` una espressione della mia creativita`.  Ma delle volte mi fa` anche diventare matta!!!  Tutti mi dicano che l’arte non dev’essere perfetto – sono queste qualita` che da il fascino artistico alle cose fatte a mano.  Ma quando, dopo aver speso TANTE ore a creare dei pezzi molto belli, finiscano male, vuoi spattere via tutto!  Questo e proprio cosa mi e` successo questo weekend.  Forse sono stata stupida anch’io a voler provare nuove piastrelle e nuovi smalti.  Quelli di prima erano OK…ma sai, si vuole sempre cercare quel elemento che ti porta alla perfezione.  Allora ho deciso di provare con queste nuove cose….e, purtroppo, ho pagato bene il prezzo.  Sarebbe stato una cosa se facevo le prove con solamente una piastrella ….o no, io ho deciso di fare un arsenale di piastrelle con, per la paga, disegni molto complessi.  Cosa pensavo?  Ovviamente, pensavo che avevo trovato la formula ottima e che queste piastrelle sarebberano le piu` belle che mai.  Potete solo immaginare il mio dolore quando le ho levate dal forno ed ho visto tutte le imperfezioni.  Mi sono demoralizzata completamente.  Con le piastrelle disastrose in mano, sono persino andata allo studio di ceramica dove compro tutti i miei attrezzi per chiedere consigli.  Uno disse che il forno era troppo caldo…l’altro disse che il smalto era messo troppo pessante….poi un altro che le piastrelle di terra cotta hanno troppe inperfezioni….Uffa!!!  Qual’e` giusto?  Per conto mio, e` stata la colpa dei nuovi smalti.  Purtroppo, quando mi succedano questi grattacapi, mi lascia disgustata di tutto che non voglio piu toccare l’arte per tanto tempo. Anche che, per remedio,  dovrei incominciare a fare tutte le prove per trovare la soluzione giusta.  Ma c’e lo la pazienza per tutto questo?  Per ora, sicuramente NO!  Mi devo lasciare calmare per un po e poi spero di aver la volonta` di proseguire con quest’arte che usualmente mi porta tanta gioia.

*******************************************************************************************************************************

I decided to write this post in Italian because I have to vent, and since the theme of my blog is “everything Italian”, I couldn’t write about something non-Italian in English!!

As you know, I design and paint tiles.  I enjoy doing this immensely….it relaxes me and it’s an expression of my creativity.  But at times it also makes me crazy!!  Everyone tells me that art doesn’t need to be perfect – it’s these qualities that add artistic charm to pieces made by hand.  But when, after spending MANY hours creating beautiful pieces, these pieces turn out bad, you want to throw everything away!  This is exactly what happened this weekend.  Maybe I was stupid to want to try out new tiles and new glazes. The ones I used before were OK….but, you know, we are always searching for that one element that will bring you to perfection.  Therefore, I decided to try out these new things…and, unfortunately, I paid the price dearly.  It would have been one thing if I did a test with only one tile….oh, no, I decided to make a whole arsenal of tiles with very complicated patterns. What was I thinking?  Obviously, I thought that I had found the perfect formula and that these tiles would be the most beautiful ones I have ever created.  You can only imagine the heartache when I removed them from the kiln and I saw all the imperfections. I was completely demoralized.  With the ruined tiles in hand, I went down to the ceramic studio where I buy all my supplies to ask for advice.  One said that my kiln was too hot…the other said the glazes were put on too thick…yet another said that terra cotta tiles have imperfections…Darn it!!!  Who is right? In my opinion, it was the new glazes’ fault.  Unfortunately, when these headaches happen to me, I get disgusted and I lose interest in doing any art for a long time.  Even though, as a remedy, I should start doing test tiles to find the solutions.  But do I have the patience for all this?  For now, certainly NOT!  I have to let myself calm down, and then I hope to have the desire to continue this art process that usually brings me so much joy.

8 responses »

  1. Coraggio, Barbara! Stai tranquilla. Sai che sei bravissima, questa è la prima volta che è successa? Dopo quanto tempo? So che è frustrante ma non permetterlo demoralizzarti! Sono totalmente sicuro che non era veramente colpo tuo. Le faccende si sistemeranno da sole.

    Peter

  2. Grazie, Peter. Qualche` cosa succede sempre quando faccio quest’arte, ed e` per quello che cercavo la soluzione perfetta. Ma le altre ero capace a giustarle….queste no. Allora devo rifarle tutte..parliamo di 15 piastrelle che mi hanno voluto piu` di un mese a farle 😦
    Spero che dopo un periodo per “cooling off”, ritornero` a fare le prove per trovare la soluzione giusta.

  3. Dear Barbara, you are THE Super Sleuth!. You found my fabric. I have ordered it. Please check my blog for more information.

    As far as your tiles are concerned. Are you using the new Duncan clear glaze which replaced the original GL-612? The brush-on or the dipping glaze? Are you firing to cone 06? You might try cone 07. I have noticed little prick marks in some of my pieces when using the new Duncan glaze.

    I am now using an Italian Glaze by Colorrobbia. It is a beautiful and consistently even clear glaze.

    If you can send me a picture of one of your tiles, I might be able to see what went wrong. It is so disappointing when your hard work is for naught. Have you tried repainting with powder pigments and then refiring your tiles? Or is the texture the problem?

    You can always use your tiles for mosaic work.

    • Hi Gina!! I just put a comment on your blog about the Super Sleuth!! Thank you.

      Thanks, also, for your help with my tiles. The picture on this blog shows the problem. If you click on it, it will blow up and you can see the little pits in the glaze. I used to use Duncan Envision glazes (these are glossy when fired and therefore no overglaze is needed) but decided to switch to Western Gloss Glazes. My tiles are terra cotta and not bisque, and they are smooth surface. They are high quality tiles from Italy. With the Duncan glazes, I used to get large holes where the glaze separated. So I decided to try these new Western glazes. Well, I think these are worse. They create little pits in the glaze. I fired these at Cone 05…perhap that is too hot? Should I try Cone 06? I would love to learn more about the Colorrobia glazes – where do you get them and do they have a good selection of colors? If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them. Thank you!!!

  4. Hi Barbara, You can purchase Colorobbia products here: http://www.ceramicscrafts.com/index.php?link=category&ID=9e
    Because your terra cotta tiles are manufactured in Italy the Italian made Colorobbia glazes might be more compatible.
    Are you going to Deruta this September? There is a wonderful Colorobbia store on the road to the historic center. I could spend hours in their shop.
    I would try firing to cone 06. By the way, I like your tiles. The little pin marks do give them character.
    I’m always surprised what people like. I usually have a carton of “seconds” whenever I have a sale. People fight over them.

  5. ogni tanto l’artista ha un brutto giorno…non possiamo forzare la situazione…invece dobbiamo andare a prendere un caffè ed aspettare un altro giorno quando il dio della creatività decide di ritornare e concederci i bei risultati per i nostri sforzi ! Pazienza.

    • l’altra settimana ho iniziato dipingere di nuovo…ma dopo un pomeriggio davanti la tela mi sono resa conto qualche volta è meglio cedere e cominciare un altro giorno! 😉 Purtruppo non ho trovato il tempo di ricominciare…spero di farlo uno di questi giorni mentre i ragazzi vanno in campeggio!

Leave a Reply

