Eggplant Parmigiana….Voila`!!

Standard

I have been craving this dish for some time now and finally decided to make it!  It takes a little bit of time, therefore I had to wait for a quiet weekend day to prepare it!  Today was the perfect opportunity.  I started by putting on some music! This always makes it all the much more enjoyable 🙂

I began by peeling 2 large eggplants and then slicing them into 1/8″ thick pieces. 

I placed all the slices into a colander and sprinkled them with salt.  I let them sit in the colander for about 45 minutes, after which I rinsed and dried them all.

I coated each slice with some flour, dipped them into a beaten egg, and then patted some dried bread crumbs onto each slice.

Working with a bit at a time, I fried each one up in some hot olive oil until they were golden brown. 

With each batch that I removed, I blotted the excess oil with a paper towel.

Once all the eggplants had been fried, it was time to assemble the parmigiana!

I started by placing a small amount of prepared marinara sauce on the bottom of a baking dish.  I used the same marinara sauce that I made a while back from all the “ugly” tomatoes  from the farmers market.

I then began layering the eggplant slices, more marinara sauce, and grated mozzarella and pecorino cheese until I had made 2 layers.  I finished it off with marinara sauce and cheese.

It then went into a 350 degree oven until the cheese melted and it was HOT! 

It turned out so good – I LOVE eggplant parmigiana.

And, as an extra treat, I found a great use for those few left over fried eggplant slices that wouldn’t fit in the dish!  I dipped each one into some left over marinara sauce and had an instant appetizer!  Yummy!

4 responses »

  1. As I was shopping for the things I couldn’t get at the Farmers market this morning, I saw fresh plump deep purple eggplant at my favorite little marketplace, Joseph’s. I wanted to get it as I have been craving this too! However, I had too much other fresh produce from the Farmers Market to use! Oh, by the way, that is almost exactly like I make mine except I use sauteed mushrooms in mine also! Oh no, now I HAVE to make this it looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

