Il Grande Panettone!!

Standard

A casa mia (at my house), it just isn’t Christmas without the obligatory panettone!  Growing up, we could only get this special treat at Italian markets, where it was flown in especially for the Holidays.  Today, thankfully, it can be found almost anywhere. 

Panettone originated in Milan, but quickly became a Holiday staple throughout Italy and Latin America.  A legend has it that during the 15th century,  a nobleman si innamoro` (fell in love) with a baker’s daughter.  In order to win her love, he disguised himself as un panettiere (a baker) and invented the panettone!  This just proves that all great inventions are on account of amore (love)!

Panettone translates to “large bread”, and that is a great description of it.  It has a domed top and is a light sweet bread with raisins and dried orange and lemon rinds.  The best way to enjoy it is with a glass of spumante or sciampagna (champagne)!!  Here’s to Natale!  Cin, cin 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Tante Auguri a te, Barbara! My friend from Palermo was always missing her Italian home and introduced me to the Panettone back in 1997 – our husbands had just returned from a deployment to Kuwait 3 days before Christmas and we were having a whopping big holiday together. I bought one every year after that (except the years I, myself, was either deployed goofing off in some other country on the planet – which was about 5 of those years). I even hauled one on a train last year to my friends in Germany. And there it sat, in the middle of all the German cookies on the table like this giant Italian mountain. Even the Germans loved it. I’m hauling one to my Dad’s house in Florida on Saturday. (I’m pretty sure he’s not reading this – but if he is – love you Daddy!) Sorry to keep bogarting your posts – I have no filters before my coffee kicks in these days. 🙂

    • See, panettone evokes lots of memories!!! But I am really bummed – Trader Joe’s had a whole bunch of them, and now they are all gone…and they’re having trouble getting more of them!!! Looks like everyone has discovered this wonderful Italian treat!!! I can only think that it was because of my blog that everyone has decided to try it!!! Now, that would be a Christmas miracle!!! Ha! Ha! Buon Natale 🙂

Leave a Reply

