Meet Me in Venice – A Book Review

Standard

I just finished reading Meet Me in Venice by the prolific author Elizabeth Adler.  The story was exciting, even though at times a bit predictable.  It took place in so many exotic locations:  Shanghai, Paris, North Carolina, Monte Carlo….and Venice!  It was filled with treachery, deceipt, murder, suspense…and, what else….LOVE!  At the root of the story is a precious necklace, at one time belonging to one of China’s most famous empresses.  It was stolen from her tomb and fell into the hands of a certain family.  Of course, once its identity resurfaces, everyone wants to get their hands on it.  What ensues is a complicated plot of intertwined relationships.  Fortune seekers and  innocent victims come face to face with each other.  The locations described in the book are so vivid that surely the author must have spent some time in each of these places.  Her depiction of Venice, complete with the names of real hotels and restaurants, palazzos and churches,  are so accurate that you feel like you are walking the calles with her.   I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it!

This review is part of the Italy in Books Reading Challenge 2011.

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Ciao, Barbara! So good to be back in the land of oh-so-American-gotta-have-it-now lightening fast wi-fi. Missed my blogger connections, gotta sayI love books that are geographically and historically accurate when applied in fiction! I learned more about Florence from “The Birth of Venus” (Dunant) on my first trip over than my Florentine friend knew about her own city, so I gave it to her to read on the plane back. I just finished Sergio Esposito’s “Passion on the Vine” – I think you’ll love this book too…maybe I’ll get on board and review too!

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I am always looking for new books to read. Wasn’t the birth of venus a great book? You should join in the book challenge – if only to get more reading suggestions.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book, which I’ll definitely put on my wish list. Valerie’s titles sound good too. Oh, this is going to be an interesting reading year!

Leave a Reply

