Parmigiana “light” of Zucchini & Prosciutto

Standard

While rummaging through my arsenal of “to be tried” recipes, I came across this one. It was printed in Italian, and therefore, probably from some Italian site I frequently look at (but, unfortunately, I don’t know which one). Thankfully, I had had the foresight to print this out, because it was delicious! Such a simple concept – and why didn’t I ever think of trying this on my own without a recipe? Hmm…sometimes the simplest things are those not thought of. Now I’m wondering what other vegetables would lend themselves to this dish. Eggplant comes to mind immediately, but perhaps something like peppers would be interesting, too. So many possibilities…

 

1238957_10151531664227924_1607411083_n[1]

Ingredients:
Zucchini – sliced lengthwise in thin strips
Prosciutto
Grated Parmesan cheese
Grated cheese of your choice
Breadcrumbs
Olive oil
Salt & pepper

Spread some olive oil on the bottom of a casserole dish (I used a square one and it was the perfect size). Sprinkle some breadcrumbs over the oil. Begin by placing a single layer of zucchini on the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle some parmesan cheese on top. Add a little salt and pepper (but go easy on the salt, or omit it altogether since the prosciutto will add saltiness to the dish). Drizzle some olive oil on top of this layer. Add a layer of prosciutto and cover that with some of the grated cheese. Repeat the process of layering zucchini (with parmesan cheese and olive oil), prosciutto and cheese until you run out of zucchini. Sprinkle the top with some breadcrumbs and drizzle with some olive oil. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the zucchini is softened. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Thanks! I hope you like it! And you may want to try using prosciutto cotto…since you live in Italy and it is delicious there! It is EXTREMELY hard to find here. The only place I’ve had luck finding it has been at an Italian deli in San Francisco’s North Beach. When I was a little girl and visiting Italy, my afternoon snack, after a day al lago, was a panino with prosciutto cotto! I can still taste the delicious bread and the prosciutto!

Leave a Reply

