The Small Joys of Summer

Standard

While strolling through the local farmer’s market this past weekend, I came across a bag of these beautiful zucchini flowers.

10411366_10152102559307924_5908813097004292637_n[2]

Immediately, I was transported back to my summers in Italy as a little girl when my grandmother used to make these for me from the few little zucchini plants she had in her tiny garden.  They were such a treat then – and I was hoping they’d be just as good when I made them!  I was not disappointed!  Making them is so simple, once you realize what the heck you need to do with these delicate flowers!

First and foremost – these flowers are very delicate and should be used as quickly after picking as possible (definitely no more than a day or two).  First I very gently rinsed them off in some cold water and put them on a towel to pat dry.  Then I cut off the stem and removed the pistol inside.  I opened them up flat…and now they were ready to become the treats I remembered so dearly.

I took the petals and coated them with some beaten egg that had been seasoned with salt and pepper.  (I added a bit of Prosecco to the beaten egg – some people add beer or mineral water!)  Then I dipped them in some flour and placed them immediately into some hot olive oil in the frying pan.  I cooked each side until they were golden brown.  I laid them in a dish covered with a paper towel to absorb the oil and patted the tops with another paper towel.  Once I was pleased that the excess oil was off of them, I placed them in a serving dish and sprinkled them lightly with some salt.  That’s when I devoured them!  They were SO good 🙂

10502403_10152102559312924_1176564234364516403_n[2]

6 responses »

    • This was the first time I saw them in California and I was thrilled. Of course, they’re very seasonal so it’s important to grab them when you see them! Now you have something to look forward to!

  1. I can whats app it to her ;)….but seriously, I agree with her! They are a real treat…and I think why they’re so special is because you can only get them a few months a year and even then, you have to either grow your own zucchini or have a farmers market nearby. Are they available in the supermarkets in Italy?

Leave a Reply

