Asparagus & Eggs – A Very Seasonal Menu

Standard

FullSizeRender

Italians are really good about eating vegetables when they are in season!  In fact, Italy has recently been voted as the country in Europe that has the freshest menus.  So, it goes to reason, that now that asparagus season is in full swing, recipes featuring fresh asparagus are taking over.  Even though we can usually find asparagus at all times of the year, it’s always nice to eat it when it’s at its peak.  So, last week while I was at the Farmer’s Market, I decided to pick up a bunch and make it my favorite way – with some fried eggs and Parmesan cheese.  There is no simpler, yet more delicious, way to eat it!

You can cook the asparagus any way you like, but I like to just cook them in some olive oil in a pan until they are soft but not mushy.  I then fry up some eggs, trying to keep the yolks intact.  That gooey egg yolk is what makes this dish so delicious!  I then place my fried eggs (with runny yolk) on top of my asparagus and sprinkle it with some Parmesan cheese.  Such a simple meal but oh so good!

5 responses »

  1. It is in fact a lovely combination. I make a frittata using the same ingredients. One of the many things I love about Italy. Using fresh seasonal produce.

Leave a Reply

