The Wasp’s Nest – A Book Review

Standard

16132980[1]

Continuing with the Roma, Underground series by Gabriel Valjan, this second book finds Bianca (Alabaster) back in Boston and working once again with Rendition.  This time, her assignment is to investigate Nasonia Pharmaceutical and it’s CEO, Cyril Sargent. who is trying to map out the genome for a species of wasp in order to discover a new form of cancer treatment.

Photo by g1.globo.com

Photo by g1.globo.com

Meanwhile, the case of the stolen antiquities which she had been working on while in Rome, continues with the extradiction of one of the key figures in the crime ring to Boston.  Because of the ties to Italy in this specific case, her friends from Rome, Farrugia and Gennaro, come to Boston as well.  While in Boston, these two uncover a conspiracy from their past, and one in which they would like to “settle the score” with.

At first, the book started off with lots of scientific talk, which I happened to understand because of my science background, but which I felt was a bit too technical.  It made for some dry reading (like reading a textbook) and I found I needed to really push myself to continue.  I honestly feel that if I hadn’t been reading this series for Italy Book Tours, I may have put the book aside.  But, I’m glad I persevered through these part, because the story got really interesting and I ended up enjoying it immensely!

Leave a Reply

