There’s Something to be Said for a Simpler Life

Standard

a-country-life[1]

Like my mom always says, “life was better when I was young!”…at times I really think she is right! With all that we have, we are also missing a more simple life where we can appreciate the treasures of nature and the people around us.

I’m not sure who wrote this story, but it was taken from a post by Cinzia Rocchi. It really made me think about our lives and made me wonder how I, personally, would do moving to the country and living a simpler life. In my present-day life, I do try to incorporate a more genuine way of life into my daily routine as best I can, mostly by cooking fresh food with fresh ingredients. I guess that’s the Italian in me!  But I dream to do more – I’d love to be able to walk or ride my bike to buy my groceries, and chat with my neighbors on a regular basis. Sadly, these are almost non-existent for me. The first is almost impossible since I don’t live within walking distance of any stores and if I were to ride my bike, it would take too much time – time I don’t have. And the second is hard, too, since everyone around me is so busy working that no one is ever outside (me included!). This is sadly typical of life in the Silicon Valley. But am I just having romantic notions of life in the country? Is it really so idyllic?

***********************************************

(The English translation follows at the bottom of this story)

Un padre ricco, volendo che suo figlio sapesse che significa essere povero, gli fece passare una giornata con una famiglia di contadini.Il bambino passò 3 giorni e 3 notti nei campi.

Di ritorno in città, ancora in macchina, il padre gli chiese:

– Che mi dici della tua esperienza ?

– Bene – rispose il bambino

Hai appreso qualcosa ? Insistette il padre

1 – Che abbiamo un cane e loro ne hanno quattro.

2 – Che abbiamo una piscina con acqua trattata, che arriva in fondo al giardino. Loro hanno un fiume, con acqua cristallina, pesci e altre belle cose.

3- Che abbiamo la luce elettrica nel nostro giardino ma loro hanno le stelle e la luna per illuminarli.

4 – Che il nostro giardino arriva fino al muro. Il loro, fino all’orizzonte.

5 – Che noi compriamo il nostro cibo; loro lo coltivano, lo raccolgono e lo cucinano.

6 – Che noi ascoltiamo CD… Loro ascoltano una sinfonia continua di pappagalli, grilli e altri animali…

…tutto ciò, qualche volta accompagnato dal canto di un vicino che lavora la terra.

7 – Che noi utilizziamo il microonde. Ciò che cucinano loro, ha il sapore del fuoco lento

8 – Che noi per proteggerci viviamo circondati da recinti con allarme… Loro vivono con le porte aperte, protetti dall’amicizia dei loro vicini.

9 – Che noi viviamo collegati al cellulare, al computer, alla televisione. Loro sono collegati alla vita, al cielo, al sole, all’acqua, ai campi, agli animali, alle loro ombre e alle loro famiglie.

Il padre rimane molto impressionato dai sentimenti del figlio. Alla fine il figlio conclude

– Grazie per avermi insegnato quanto siamo poveri !

Ogni giorno, diventiamo sempre più poveri perché non osserviamo più la natura!!!

**********************************************

A rich father, wanting his son to learn the significance of being poor, made him spend time with a family of farmers.

The boy spent 3 days and 3 nights in the fields.

Upon returning to the city, while in the car, the father asked “how was your experience?”

“Good”, the boy responded.

“What did you learn?” asked the father.

  1. We have one dog and they have four.
  2. We have a swimming pool with treated water that sits at the back of our garden. They have a river with crystal clear water, fish and other beautiful things.
  3. We have electric lights in our garden, but they have the stars and the moon for light.
  4. Our garden finishes at a wall, whereas theirs goes all the way to the horizon.
  5. We buy our food. They grow it, reap it, and cook it.
  6. We listen to CD’s. They listen to a symphony of parrots, crickets, and other animals.
  7. We use the microwave. What they cook has the flavor of a slow fire.
  8. To protect ourselves, we have fences and alarms. They live with their doors open, protected by the friendship of their neighbors.
  9. We live connected to our cell phones, computers and televisions. They are connected to life by the sky, the water, the fields, the animals, their shadows and their families.

The father was very impressed with the sentiments of his son. At the end, the son says,

“Thank you for teaching me how poor we are!”

Every day, we become poorer and poorer because we no long observe nature!!

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

