Prosciutto & Melon – A Perfect Combination

Standard

842398[1]

Last night, after having eaten a big lunch for Father’s Day, we decided to have a light but tasty meal. I had a cantaloupe melon that was at that perfectly ripe stage, right before going bad! Ha! Ha! It was deliciously sweet! So I decided to pair it with some prosciutto! That combination of sweet and salty was the perfect light meal.

Prosciutto and melon is a classic summertime appetizer in Italy and has been so for centuries! Evidently, melon was considered a “dangerous” fruit back in Medieval times. It’s properties of being cold and juicy were not a good thing (maybe that’s why my Nonna used to forbid me to have ice cold water in the dead of summer because it would give me indigestion!). Anyway, to counterbalance the danger of the cold and juicy melon, it had to be combined with something warm and dry – like prosciutto! Hence, the delightful combination was born – thankfully something good came out of those dark ages!

2 responses »

    • I think everything tastes better in Italy! It’s my quest to find the same fresh food here in the States – it’s not always easy, but I’m trying my hardest. I signed up with a produce supplier to bring me the freshest organic produce and I have to say this melon was pretty good – even though it had to sit for more than a week to ripen fully. Good luck in Australia!

Leave a Reply

